Lily & Frog

LEOW & Mom creating clothing & keepsake blankets

Cookies from a Cake Mix

1 Comment

Cake Mix CookiesWhile searching cookie recipes on Pinterest, I noticed a few recipes began with CAKE MIX…  No WAY!?!  Well this will a Baking Short Cut if I ever saw one…  But would it actually work?

YES!  It works!

And Last Christmas, I baked ALL of my Holiday Cookies from Cake Mix…  And no one knew!  HA!  I’m patting myself on the back here, because the family thought (and still thinks) my cookies were from scratch.

I started with finding several Cake Mix Cookie recipes on Pinterest.  There are a bunch of recipes out there, one thing I noticed is some recipes used oil and eggs, while others used melted butter and eggs.  Well this calls for a Cake Mix Cookie Recipe Taste Test!

2 Recipes with 3 Cake Mix Cookie Recipe Taste Testers!

Cake Mix Cookies (9)

Lily & Frog Ingredients Oil Recipe:

  • Chocolate Cake MixCake Mix Cookies (2)
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/3 cups of Vegetable Oil

Lily & Frog Instructions:

Mix all the ingredients together.  Spoon onto cookie sheets, bake on 350 degrees for 7 minutes.

Lily & Frog Ingredients Butter Recipe:

  • Chocolate Cake Mix
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/3 cups of Melted Butter

Mix all the ingredients together.  Spoon onto cookie sheets, bake on 350 degrees for 7 minutes.

Cake Mix Cookies (3)

The left bowl (plastic bowl) is melted butter, right bowl (glass bowl) is the oil recipe.  Both mixed quite easily, but when rolling into cookie balls the melted butter recipe was SUPER sticky.  I ended up not even bothering with rolling them, I just scooped them with spoons, creating a ball shape with the spoons.

Cake Mix Cookies (6)

The left cookie sheet is the melted butter recipe, right cookie sheet is oil.

Cake Mix Cookies (7)

The left cookie sheet with melted butter recipe I baked for 2 extra minutes; 9 minutes total.  While the right cookie sheet with oil I only baked for 7 minutes…  the butter recipe really did need that few extra minutes.Cake Mix Cookies (8)

Onto the Cake Mix Cookie Recipe Taste Testers!

This was FUN!  Andy and the kids got one of each cookie…  Honestly, Trying to get them to sit still for a Smiling Picture was the HARDEST part, lol.

And they were unanimous…  OR cheating…  but they all LOVED the Vegetable Oil Cake Mix Cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies (11)   Cake Mix Cookies (14) Cake Mix Cookies (15)   Cake Mix Cookies (10)

In the End…  I’ll agree, the Vegetable Oil Cake Mix Cookie is much better then the melted butter one…  And I have continued to use this baking technique for many of my cookies.  Soon I’ll be sharing several holiday cookies made from Cake Mix Cookies…  does Red Velvet Cookies Stuffed with Oreos sound good?!?

Author: Lily and Frog

Owner and creator of Lily and Frog, small business of handcrafted baby and toddler accessories.

One thought on “Cookies from a Cake Mix

  1. Pingback: Mint Grinch Cookies from Cake Mix | Lily & Frog