Lily & Frog

LEOW & Mom creating clothing & keepsake blankets

DIY Wall Letters for Child’s Room

Letters on Wall (6)This project was an easy addition to Lily’s bedroom…  Adding her name to the wall, just as I did in Zach’s bedroom.

DIY Hair Clip Holder (26)

Lily & Frog Supplies:

  • Wood letters spelling child’s name
  • Spray paint:  Any Color
  • Acrylic paint:  Any Color
  • Paint Brush
  • Pencil
  • Command Strips

Lily & Frog Steps:

Beginning with a wood letters; I bought these at the local craft store when they were 75% off, just wait for a sale, no rush.  The color or any damage to the letters is not important, any flaws will be covered by the spray paint.

Color Choices:  Lily’s bedroom is a combination of hot pink and lime green.  I chose a neutral base color; flat white spray paint, and hot pink and lime green acrylic paint for the dots.

Design Plan:  A combination of small and large dots using the hot pink and lime green acrylic paint on a white base, in a scattered and unplanned pattern.

The design and pattern will coordinate with the hair clip holder I designed for her room.

DIY Hair Clip Holder (28)   DIY Hair Clip Holder (25)

Prepare a painting area to spray paint your letters; follow all instruction on your can of spray paint.  Spray paint the letter the base color of your choice.  In our case, I laid an old sheet on our driveway, placing the letters in the center.  I probably should have sanded the letters first, but I completely skipped that step 😉

Letters on Wall (2)

Once the letters are dry, I snagged the acrylic paint and got to painting my polka dots in a scattered and unplanned pattern…  basically if I saw a place which looked like it ‘needed’ a polka dot, it got a polka dot.  To keep all the polka dots the same size, I used a pencil eraser…  It is just as easy as it sounds, use the eraser as a ‘stamp’ then use a thin paint brush to clean-up any dots which may not be perfect.DIY Hair Clip Holder (6)

When hanging the letters, I also hung a hair clip holder.  With the clip holder is hanging lop-sided to add character (not everything needs to be perfect…  YES, I just said that, lol), I ‘floated’ the letters on the wall.  The only measuring I did was centering the “L” between the edge of her dresser (on the right) and the edge of the hair clip holder.

DIY Hair Clip Holder (27)

Please ignore the fact that the two dressers do not match in color OR design, one is from my childhood bedroom and the other from Andrew’s.  When we move (Did I mention we are moving in a year!  We are super excited, way more information on that as we get the wheels moving) I will be re-finishing them for the kid’s NEW rooms!

The letters are SUPER light-weight, because of this, it is hanging from the wall by Command Strips…

DIY Hair Clip Holder (3)   DIY Hair Clip Holder (16)

 

Author: Lily and Frog

Owner and creator of Lily and Frog, small business of handcrafted baby and toddler accessories.

Comments are closed.