Lily & Frog

LEOW & Mom creating clothing & keepsake blankets

The Kassays: est. 2007

2 Comments

February 009 (576x1024)_1

I can’t seem to get enough of creating items for our home, that are rooted in our children’s growth, development, and personalities.

When I stumble upon the countless crafts created from children’s handprints or footprints, my heart just melts.  These are some of my favorites…

Being hit over the head with the inspiration stick (That seems to happen a TON over here!), I went to work on creating a The Kassays Est. 2007 sign for our home.

Lily & Frog Materials:

All the materials I scavenged from our home… I started with a stone/plaque which was just plain old UGLY, no really, it is quite possibly one of the ugliest fall decorations I own, to the point I refused to share a picture of it with you.  I was never planning on using it again and rather than throwing it away, decided to re-design it into something sentimental and heartwarming.

  • Acrylic Paint
  • Spray paint
  • Letter stickers
  • Yarn
  • Baby wipes (trust me! you’ll thank me)

Sept 018  AB (1024x768)First Step…  choose your wording and letter colors, we went with ‘The Kassays’ in black.  Keep it simple (right?!?).  I followed the steps in a previous post called Lettering on Stone [link] to create the lettering on the stone.  Except I stopped at step #4, I didn’t peel off the lettering just yet.

Now is the fun part…

October - Phone 222 (1024x612)

Your plaque should be one solid color, the background color.  Before you gather your kids and spouse, prepare with all of your supplies; acrylic paints (open the bottle), brushes, and baby wipes…

Now call for your spouse…  They will mumble and grumble about this part, but once they see how it all turns out, they’ll be impressed with your planning.

Paint your spouse’s hand with the acrylic paint of your choosing and place their hand where you would like it.  Followed quickly by doing the same for yourself.  Let both hand prints dry completely before calling the kids.

February 009 (576x1024)

Line up your willing (or unwilling) participants up one-by-one, starting with the oldest because they can show the little ones how to hold still.  Paint their hand with the acrylic paint of your choosing and place their hand where you would like it.  Continue on with the next kid, using the baby wipes to quickly clean off their hands before they run off and paint your walls.  Also, I used the baby wipes to ‘clean up’ the kid’s handprints.  Lily was a mess when I finally got her to sit still long enough.

For our design, I wanted to show the difference in size between the kids, Andy and I.  This is why Andy and my hand prints are on the bottom and both kids’ hand prints are directly on top.  I LOVE IT…  Just pulls at your heart trings, huh?

This particular plaque came with a smaller wood sign.  Using the perviously October - Phone 213 (1024x612)described lettering steps I put ‘est. 2007’  on the plague. When I finish with the background color, I painted polka dots in the same color as our hand prints.

When I was finished with the background color, I painted polka dots in the same color as our hand prints.  Bringing together unity, family, etc mumbo-jumbo…  Really, I just wanted it to match!

Now even more fun…  peeling away the sticker lettering to reveal the black letters you created.  I did need to do minor touch-ups, but because I ‘sealed’ the edges, I was golden!

Since this was originally ONE piece held together by rope, I kept the theme by re-tying it together.  This time I used yarn… because I accidently threw away the rope originally used.  I’m not 100% sure how I did this part, but basically, I created a needle with thread in an attempt to thread through tiny holes (already on in the plaque and wood) a large amount of threads of yarn.

With everything peeled away and tied together, I accomplished my goal…  designing a sentimental DIY piece from items I already have in the house.

October - Phone 215 (612x1024) October - Phone 216 (612x1024) October - Phone 217 (612x1024) October - Phone 218 (1024x612) October - Phone 219 (1024x612) October - Phone 220 (612x1024)

With everything peeled away and tied together, I accomplished my goal…  designing a sentimental DIY piece from items I already have in the house.

February 009 (576x1024)

Do you have a family craft which you feels brings the family together, share it with me and share the link below!

Visit our Etsy Shop for purchasing.  You may also e-mail Lily & Frog directly at info@lilyandfrog.com and follow our blog at www.lilyandfrog.com.

Author: Lily and Frog

Owner and creator of Lily and Frog, small business of handcrafted baby and toddler accessories.

2 thoughts on “The Kassays: est. 2007

  1. Pingback: Personalized Step Stools | Lily & Frog

  2. Pingback: Hand & Foot Prints | Lily & Frog